When uploading a new file or editing a file’s features in your Document Manager you are presented with some permission options to set.
Here are the basic effects of each permission setting:
- Forbidden: the user or department can not see the file in the file list
- None: the user or department can not see the file in the file list (default for all departments – pretty much the same as forbidden)
- View: the user or department can see the file in the file list but can not download / view the file
- Read: the user or department can see the file in the list + view / download the file – but can not check out the file for modification and upload
- Write: can see, view, download, check-out + upload file
- Admin: can do everything including changing department and user access permissions.
You can use the department permissions settings to set the default permissions for all users belonging to a department.
You can then further set individual user permissions for the file regardless of department.
In combination, the two settings can give you granular control over who can do what with a specific file.
NOTE: it’s a good idea to double check each department’s default file permissions and individual user permissions before upload or saving edits.
Here is a short video explaining how the Department and Specific User Permissions work when adding or editing your document permissions: